Blueberry Goat Cheese Pie & Tarts

Tried a new recipe the other day. I make a blueberry goat cheese pie, and tarts with the left over dough and filling. I had gotten the idea from a Master Chef episode I saw. But only that one was blueberry, goat cheese, and basil. I just left out the basil. It sounded interesting, but I wasn’t quite sure how it would turn out in the end. It was actually really good. Probably could have used a bit more goat cheese, and some more sugar, but other than that I loved it.

Ingredients:

  • Blueberries – minimum of 5 cups *I used 2 – 455 g bags of Frozen Blueberries, make sure you let them thaw completely before baking
  • 2 1/2 -3 cups Sugar *I had used 2 cups, so I am thinking at least and extra half a cup should be alright
  • Goat Cheese – depends on how much goat cheese you want *I used 3 small Chevra brand Goat cheese from Target. It was mild if you don’t want extremely goat-y tasting goat cheese. Personally, I could have used at least another 2 packages, and I chopped the three up pretty small too
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Dough – you can either use store bought or homemade. *I used Pillsbury dough

Directions:

  • Mix blueberries, sugar, flour, cornstarch, cinnamon, and salt together
  • Cut goat cheese – however small or big you would like
  • Mix goat cheese into blueberries
  • *If using frozen blueberries, put in the fridge overnight before baking
  • Put pie dough into pie plate – pre baking not required, but if you want to, bake for about 3-5 minutes
  • Pour filling into dough
  • Place top dough onto of the pie – if you’re using one 😉
  • Sprinkle sugar on top
  • Bake for 45 minutes

**If you have leftover dough and filling, you can make tarts. I used a muffin tin to make mine

 

Leave a Reply

