Letters, Conventions & Baking – Oh My

Dear Mother Nature;
What’s with the snow? I mean it is spring is it not? It would be wonderful to have spring without snow. Warmer weather and sun is much preferable to snow any day. #Winterisnotcoming
Sincerely,
Melissa

Seriously though, all of the snow since it has become spring has kind of gotten annoying.

For those Calgary Comic & Entertainment Expo people I know, in case you haven’t heard: they are having a parade this year. It’s called ‘POW! Parade of Wonders!’. It’s on Friday April 26th at 11am. It goes from Festival Market in Eau Claire Market to Olympic Plaza. Where the opening ceremonies will be held at 12:00 pm according to the expo’s Facebook page. You can also register to be in the parade as cos-players if anybody’s interested in that. Just FYI in case anybody likes the expo. 🙂

Speaking of the expo, I am excited that it is officially less than a month away. It is definitely one of my favorite times of the year. So many well-known people are coming this year. I don’t need to meet everyone (and I know I won’t) but seeing their panels or in passing their autograph tables will be good enough. I was (and still am) considering dressing up as a hunter from Supernatural. But I find that a little bit difficult as there is no actual way to dress up as one, or that it would be clear to what I was. If anybody has any ideas on that for me I would be more than happy to hear them.

Over the past few months (ok since October-ish) I have been trying out some new recipes. I have made pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin cheesecake cookies -my own recipe-, shortbread cookies, pumpkin spice muffins, roasted garlic. Well the roasted garlic isn’t so much a recipe as it is mostly just putting peeled garlic cloves into tin foil with olive oil and baking it for 45 minutes in 350F. If it’s mixed with cream cheese and left for a couple of days to fuse it makes an awesome dip. I have a few things that I haven’t tried yet; but will.

Leave a Reply

