Baking

Woot, I actually baked some chocolate – chocolate chip cookies today. They’re so good. And I’m proud of myself because I haven’t baked cookies in forever. They turned out really well. I made 2 batches. I think it ended up being 5+ dozen total. Took me about 3 or so hours to get it all done. My grandma was saying all morning that “she had to supervise me so I don’t burn the house down”. This wasn’t the first time I baked cookies by myself. Everybody (my mum, my grandpa, and myself) can remember me baking by myself with exception of my grandma. So she was in the dining room pretty much the first 3/4 of the time I was baking. I told her see I told you I can bake without supervision, and that I won’t have had burnt the house down. Which is true I wouldn’t have. She had to go to the store at that point anyways. But at least at that point she trusted me in the kitchen by myself (she wasn’t really “supervising” me in the kitchen anyways as she was on the phone with my aunt whom had called) so I was on my own when they left. I promised my grandma before she left that I wouldn’t burn the house down when she was gone like she thought I might. In which she said “she was just there in case I needed any help”. My mum and I both said that no she said was going to supervise. Ha ha. But My house is fine, I never burnt the house down, and didn’t burn myself (I did however do that at the beginning of the month in the oven cooking something else) like she thought I would. The cookies turned out great. Super chocolatey. Just how I like them (considering they’re chocolate – chocolate chip). I love baking, and I love the end result of baking (as long as whatever I’m baking turns out). However, I don’t particularily like the mess at the end. But it’s apart of baking so I have to deal with it. Three things I’d love when baking: 1) more counter space 2) a stand mixer 3) a dishwasher.

If any of you want the recipe here it is:

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup butter

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 cups chocolate chips

1/2 teaspoon instant coffee (optional) *makes the cookies a bit more chocolatey*

Directions:

pre-heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit

mix flour, salt, baking soda & chocolate chips in one bowl

mix butter, both sugars, eggs, vanilla, and cocoa powder in another bowl

gradually stir flour mix into butter mix until fully combined

for cookies: put dough on a baking sheet and bake about 10 minutes

for bars: pat dough in a 9″ square baking pan and bake about 20 – 25 minutes, cut when cooled

Leave a Reply

